The Nation: Possible 2015 lineups

Ever since the signing of Cuban star, Rusney Castillo, I’ve been asked more than a few times what the lineup MAY look like next season. Keep in mind, there’s an entire offseason remaining (along with the possibilities of waiver trades, claims, etc.) so I can’t 100% say what the lineup will be as there’s still plenty to be done before next April. BUT, we are Red Sox fans and we have as much right to speculate as anyone else. Again, I’m speculating. That means these lineups are my opinions. If you don’t agree, no harm done, just hold your criticism.

1st lineup: AKA how I would make the lineup

1. Rusney Castillo CF
2. Dustin Pedroia 2B
3. David Ortiz DH
4. Mike Napoli 1B
5. Yoenis Cespedes RF
6. Allen Craig LF
7. Brock Holt 3B
8. Xander Bogaerts SS
9. Christian Vazquez C

Why this lineup? Victorino isn’t in there, neither is Will Middlebrooks. Vic isn’t getting any younger. He’s also extremely injury prone. Does that mean I don’t love him or want him here? Not at all. I’m a huge fan of Shane Victorino. But this is how I would make the lineup. If he’s still here next year (barring a trade or a release), I would use him often as a 4th outfielder assuming he’s healthy. And Middlebrooks? I’m sold on him. The only value he has is eye candy (no, not for me). He can’t hit consistently. He’s an average defender at best. And he’s plagued with injuries. In simple terms, I would trade him for a half-eaten bag of crackers and call it a day. That statement won’t sit well with some of you reading this, but again, this is MY opinion. Oh, and Nava? I’d trade him or keep him as a versatile utility guy that can play first along with the outfield. Why is Holt not hitting leadoff in this lineup? Because Castillo is fast. VERY fast. And he has some power. The year Brett Gardner is having could very well be a year Castillo has next season batting leadoff. Besides, I still have Holt in there and as long as he hits, he’ll be here.

Lineup 2:

1. Brock Holt 3B
2. Dustin Pedroia 2B
3. David Ortiz DH
4. Mike Napoli 1B
5. Yoenis Cespedes RF
6. Rusney Castillo CF
7. Allen Craig LF
8. Xander Bogaerts SS
9. Christian Vazquez C

Castillo could be productive in the 6 spot. That lengthens the lineup nicely. I can see this as a very realistic option here. We’ll have to see what happens, but this is assuming we have the roster we have now. Thanks for reading!

Standard

Leave a Reply

