A Fan’s Appeal to Jon Lester

I don’t know if you’ll read this. I don’t know what’s going through your mind right now as you prepare to make one of the biggest decisions of your life; a huge decision that affects not only you, but your family, who I have also come to know and love. But on the off chance you do read this, I want to tell you how I feel about you. I want to tell you how we ALL feel about you.

We love you, Jon. We love Farrah and Hudson and Walker. You represent the best of the Red Sox, the best of baseball, the best of Boston. Ever since you were drafted in 2002, you’ve done special things in the Red Sox organization.

I will never forget when you threw your no hitter. May, 2008. I remember the final out. I wasn’t there, but I sure felt like I was. I remember bursting into tears and screaming for joy. Not because just anyone threw a no hitter, but because you did. You not only battled cancer, you defeated it. It couldn’t have been any better. We watched you grow, from a kid from Tacoma, to a 2 time World Series champion, and a fantastic man, husband, and father. We’ve been with you all these years, Jon. Through the good and the bad. The wins and the losses. I just want you to know, when you were traded, it devastated us. I cried (along with many others) because the guy that embodies the Boston Red Sox – grit, determination, hard work, respect, and integrity- was traded. But please know Jon, the front office traded you (obviously a huge mistake). We (the fans) didn’t. We started petitions. We made our voices known. We chanted your name. Because we love you. And I promise you, many of us would pay you out of our own pockets because we want you back home, where you belong, with the greatest franchise and the greatest fan base in the world. The memories have been amazing, but they don’t have to end there. Come home, Jon. Come back to the friendly confines of Fenway Park, where we can cheer number 31 on for years to come. Just know that wherever you decide to spend the next few years of your career/life, that we are behind you. You will always have our love, respect, and support. You’ve earned it. You’re our guy. You’re our ace. You’re the greatest Red Sox pitcher of all time in my book. Come back and finish what you started.

Standard

Leave a Reply

