Farewell, Large Father

David,
I feel like I could write a novel about all the positive memories you’ve given me the last decade plus. From the 2004 ALCS to your final game in a Red Sox uniform, I’ve always been on the edge of my seat when you were at the plate, watching and waiting for something amazing to happen. To be honest, I even began to expect it from you because you have become a legend in your own right. Whether it was your powerful swing or your larger-than-life personality, you always gave me a reason to smile. I never met you, but I feel like I know you so well. You embody Boston and the never-quit spirit of the city. I can’t imagine what the game will be like without you and quite frankly I don’t want to. All I know is I’m going to miss you and the game will never be the same. The Red Sox will never be the same. Boston will never be the same. Thank you, Large Father, for some of the best memories of my life. Baseball will never be the same. This isn’t goodbye, it’s just “see you later.” When you put your cap on that boasts the Boston “B” during the Hall of Fame ceremony, I’ll be watching with all the fond memories you’ve given me over the years. I love you, Papi. Thanks for everything. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

